Eat Clean, Train Mean, Get Lean

My new motto.

So day two of ‘getting back on it’ and I’m feeling good. Well, stiff but good. After work yesterday I hit the ‘zoo for Crossfit. I don’t think I was quite prepared for the intensity of what Cpt. Crofts had in mind for us, but I hit it as hard as I could muster. He set up four stations to complete as a circuit and we had to see how much we could cram into 45 minutes (after warm up). The stations were:

10 laps of the car park at sprinting pace
4 spots in a square, about 2 yards apart. Push-up at each spot, ‘walking’ in push-up position between each. A push-up at each spot represented one rep, we had 20 to do.
(20 x front barbell front squats, then 20 x shoulder press) x 3
30 x rope pull ups

I managed one full circuit and one half circuit in the 40 minutes or so after warm up. It doesn’t seem like a lot now I write it down, but bloody hell I felt it. I felt it more this morning when I got out of bed and my legs ached after all those front squats! I had planned on going for a run this morning but couldn’t really face it, so perhaps foolishly decided to go to the gym and do some more circuit type training instead. The exercises I pinched from this month’s issue of Men’s Health article on ‘six-pack in 4 weeks’:

Overhead Squats – 3 sets, 20 reps
Prone knee to opposite elbow (from push-up position, knee to each elbow = one rep) – 3 sets, 12 reps
Prone knee to same elbow (as above) – 3 sets, 12 reps
Push-Ups – 3 sets, 15 reps
Swiss Ball Hamstring Curls – 3 sets, 12 reps
Lunge to dumbbell press – 3 sets, 13 reps

Exercises to be completed as a circuit, 30 second rests between each set. Repeat three times.
If there is any remaining time from the 45 minute session, brisk walk on an uphill treadmill, increasing the incline to failure.

I managed all the exercises but the last set may have incurred slightly longer rest periods. I didn’t have any time left at the end for the treadmill, so I obviously need to up my tempo a bit with the circuits. Still, I felt like I had been through the ringer afterwards so it must have been a decent work out.

I have a feeling my legs are going to be knackered tomorrow, so I’m not sure how my plan to go for a run will pan out. The Men’s Health six pack plan recommends doing the circuits 4 days a week, resting one day and on the other two 45 minutes of treadmill walking on an incline. I don’t imagine for a minute I could walk or run on a treadmill for 45 minutes without going crazy, so I need to either have a rest day or think of a suitable alternative workout. If my legs aren’t too buggered I think I’ll try a gentle 5k or maybe walking up the big hill near where I live then jogging down and repeat for 45 minutes or I get too tired/bored to continue. Then Thursday more circuits and Friday more Crossfit. I don’t think I’ll have time to train at the weekend as I have a lot of family commitments, but I’m sure my legs will welcome the rest if nothing else. If I can squeeze it in I’ll do some stretching and maybe some yoga (well as much yoga as I can manage) on one of the days. Most importantly I need to lay off the pizza & curry and beer (much as this pains me).

I’ve been thinking about a diet plan and I need to try and keep it simple. Good lean meats and protein sources, cut-out processed crap and refined carbs and no cakey-stuff! So my meals may become a little boring, but I have to think of food as fuel for the next 4-6 weeks.

Meal Plan

Breakfast – Oat and fruit Based Smoothie

Morning snack – nuts, seeds, dried fruit, olives

Lunch:

Option A – Cajun chicken, peppers, onions wrap
Option B – Tuna pasta salad with sweetcorn & peppers
Option C – Turkey steaks, spelt & beans

Afternoon snack – fruit

Tea:

Option A – chicken & courgette chilli
Option B – chicken, sweet potato & veg
Option C – Turkey strips & bean salad
Option D – (once a week) Lean Steak, Kale & veg

Supper – Protein shake

I’ve also ordered a ‘Lean Muscle’ package from the Protein Works, which apparently is ‘…specifically created for those looking to achieve muscle definition and reduce overall body fat.’ Which pretty much sums up my goals for the next six weeks or so. That and getting increasing my fitness level, but I like to think the two go hand in hand right? I need to keep motivated, keep disciplined and keep progressing!

I think I’ll get the missus to take some pictures too so I can see if there’s any sort of obvious improvements I can chart them.

Leave a Reply

