New Week, New Workouts

So after a real fat bastard of a weekend, with beer, cakes, pastries, curry and takeaway, I figured I had better get back ‘on it’ big style. Obviously this meant getting up at the crack of dawn to hit the ‘Zoo at 0700 hrs for a speed and agility session. Although when my alarm went off I could have happily hit off and gone back to bed, but I soldiered on and in the end was glad I did. I really enjoyed my early morning blast and it set me up for the day nicely.

Starting tomorrow I’m going to get back on the circuit training/crossfit style exercises. I did a few at the end of last week and they were pretty good, so this week I’m going to try and stay in the same vein. In no particular order, here’s what I’ll be having a go at I think:

Workout 1

Circuit A:
– 2 minutes on the rower
– 1 minute rest
– 2 minutes on the rower (must beat previous distance)
– 10 x deadlift
– 10 x push press
– 1 minute rest
Circuit B
– 2 minutes on rower (beating previous distance)
– 1 minute rest
– 2 minutes on rower (beating previous distance)
– 10 x Squat
– 10 x bench press
– 1 minute rest

Workout 2

(30 second skipping between all sets and exercises)
3 x 12 Deadlift
3 x 12 Wide-grip pull ups
3 x 12 bench press
3 x 12 Clean & Jerk

Workout 3

(for time)
Barbell/Dumbbell Thrusters 21, 15, 9
Pull Ups (overhand grip) 21, 15, 9
+ cardio

Workout 4

(for time)
100 Dumbell Thrusters with 5 burpees on the minute every minute

Workout 5 (mostly body weight)

Skipping – 2 minutes
20 power squats
20 push ups
20 jumping jacks
20 crunches
20 dips
20 mountain climbers
20 step ups
20 lateral jumps
20 lateral raises
60 sec plank

Repeat.

All of them are designed to be a bit different and to be intense. Some have quite a few exercises, some are just one or two exercises but with higher volumes. I think its good to mix it up and keep my body guessing. Also it keeps me mentally engaged and stops me getting stuck in the same old routine again and again. If you fancy a go at any of these, please do and let me know what you think, or if you modify them how etc.

Leave a Reply

